If you are searching for a Mac Studio with 128GB unified memory, the choice comes down to how much performance, storage, and memory headroom your work actually needs. I rank the M4 Max with 2TB SSD as the most balanced 128GB configuration, while the M4 Max with 8TB SSD suits projects that keep large files close at hand. For workloads that may exceed 128GB, the M3 Ultra with 256GB is the more capable step up. The lineup also includes an M5 Max listing with a stated maximum rather than a confirmed configuration, and a renewed M1 Ultra with only 64GB, so those picks involve a different kind of compromise.
Get cleaning gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Memory capacity is the main filter here, but it is not the only one: the M3 Ultra offers more memory and display support, while the M4 Max configurations pair 128GB with different SSD capacities. I compare each option on how clearly it meets the memory target, the scale of work it can support, and what a buyer gives up to get that fit.
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The M4 Max with 128GB and 2TB SSD is my balanced pick for buyers who need the requested memory capacity without stepping up to 8TB storage.
- The M4 Max with 128GB and 8TB SSD is a better fit for large local media libraries and project files, though that storage may be unnecessary if most work is archived elsewhere.
- The M3 Ultra configuration has 256GB unified memory, making it the strongest choice here for workflows whose working sets can exceed 128GB.
- The M5 Max listing says memory is available up to 128GB but does not identify the included configuration, so buyers should verify the exact memory and storage before choosing it.
- The renewed M1 Ultra is the only 64GB option; it may suit lighter professional work, but it does not meet a strict 128GB requirement.
| mac studio with 128gb unified memory | Chip | CPU | GPU | Unified memory |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | Apple M4 Max | 16-core | 40-core | 128GB |
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | Apple M4 Max | 16-core | 40-core | 128GB |
| Apple Mac Studio with M3 Ultra | Apple M3 Ultra | 28-core | 60-core | 256GB |
| Apple Mac Studio Desktop Compu | — | — | — | — |
| Apple Mac Studio | Apple M1 Ultra | 20-core | 48-core | 64GB |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, 128GB unified memory, 2TB SSD
I put this configuration first because it pairs the requested 128GB unified memory with a practical 2TB SSD and the M4 Max’s 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU. That combination is a clear match for demanding creative and computational work without pushing local storage to the 8TB level of the other M4 Max option. Compared with that model, it leaves more room to keep storage simple when active projects are manageable or archived elsewhere.
The tradeoff is that its storage may feel constrained for buyers who keep extensive footage, assets, or datasets on the internal drive. Those users should look at the 8TB M4 Max instead. The M3 Ultra offers 256GB and more headroom for unusually large working sets, but it is a bigger step in memory capacity than many 128GB shoppers require. The supplied listing gives no hands-on performance feedback, so I judge it by the configuration details provided, not independent test results.
Pros:- Confirmed 128GB unified memory
- M4 Max with 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU
- 2TB SSD for active projects and applications
- Thunderbolt 5 in a compact desktop enclosure
Cons:- 2TB may be limiting for extensive local media or dataset storage
- Desktop design requires a separate display and a fixed workstation
Best for: Creative and technical professionals who need a confirmed 128GB configuration and can work comfortably with 2TB of internal storage.
Not ideal for: People with large always-local media libraries, or workloads likely to outgrow 128GB and benefit from the M3 Ultra’s 256GB.
- Chip:Apple M4 Max
- CPU:16-core
- GPU:40-core
- Unified memory:128GB
- Storage:2TB SSD
- Connectivity:Thunderbolt 5
- Enclosure:7.7-inch square
Our verdict“I recommend this M4 Max as the clearest balance of confirmed 128GB memory, capable processing hardware, and moderate internal storage.”
Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max, 16-Core CPU, 40-Core GPU, 128GB Memory, and 8TB SSD
This M4 Max keeps the same stated 16-core CPU, 40-core GPU, and 128GB memory as my overall pick, then expands the SSD to 8TB. That makes the difference between these two M4 Max listings mostly about where you want your working files to live. If you regularly switch among large video libraries, audio sessions, or other bulky project folders, the added capacity can reduce dependence on external drives and network storage.
For buyers whose files are already stored externally or in shared systems, the 2TB configuration makes more sense and avoids paying for capacity they may not fill. The 8TB model also remains a desktop, so it does not solve mobility needs. The M3 Ultra is a better fit when the limit is memory capacity rather than local storage: it supplies 256GB, though this M4 Max listing gives no indication that additional memory is needed for its intended workload. I would choose this one for its specific storage advantage, not assume it is faster than the 2TB sibling.
Pros:- 128GB unified memory
- 8TB SSD for large local project collections
- M4 Max with 16-core CPU and 40-core GPU
- Thunderbolt 5 connectivity and quiet thermal system
Cons:- The 8TB capacity may be excessive for workflows based on external storage
- Still a desktop computer rather than a portable workstation
Best for: Editors, media teams, and technical users who want 128GB of memory and substantial internal space for active projects.
Not ideal for: Buyers who mainly use external or network storage, or who need more than 128GB of unified memory.
- Chip:Apple M4 Max
- CPU:16-core
- GPU:40-core
- Unified memory:128GB
- Storage:8TB SSD
- Connectivity:Thunderbolt 5
- Enclosure:7.7-inch square
Our verdict“I favor this M4 Max over the 2TB version when keeping large active projects on the internal SSD is a central requirement.”
Apple Mac Studio with M3 Ultra, 28-Core CPU, 60-Core GPU, 256GB Unified Memory, 2TB SSD
If your search for 128GB reflects a minimum rather than a target, this M3 Ultra with 256GB unified memory is the most substantial memory configuration in the lineup. Its 28-core CPU and 60-core GPU also place it above the listed M4 Max configurations in core counts, while 2TB SSD storage matches the balanced M4 Max pick. That makes it the one to examine for professional workloads with large working sets, such as complex creative projects or local computational tasks that can use more memory.
The extra capacity is not automatically an advantage for everyone. If your applications and files fit within 128GB, either M4 Max may be a more direct match, and the 8TB M4 Max provides much more internal storage. The M3 Ultra listing supports up to eight displays, exceeding the M5 Max listing’s five-display figure, which can matter for a multi-screen studio. However, the supplied details do not include hands-on performance data, so I would not treat core counts alone as a guarantee of application-specific speed.
Pros:- 256GB unified memory exceeds the 128GB target
- M3 Ultra with 28-core CPU and 60-core GPU
- Supports up to eight displays
- 2TB SSD and 10Gb Ethernet connectivity
Cons:- More memory than a buyer with a 128GB ceiling may need
- 2TB internal storage is lower than the 8TB M4 Max listing
- No supplied hands-on performance details
Best for: Professionals whose active applications or datasets can benefit from more than 128GB of unified memory and who may connect many displays.
Not ideal for: Most 128GB shoppers whose projects fit the M4 Max configurations, particularly those who need more internal storage than 2TB.
- Chip:Apple M3 Ultra
- CPU:28-core
- GPU:60-core
- Unified memory:256GB
- Storage:2TB SSD
- Display support:Up to eight displays
- Connectivity:Thunderbolt 5, USB 3, HDMI 2.1, 10Gb Ethernet
Our verdict“I would choose the M3 Ultra when memory headroom beyond 128GB and broad display support matter more than maximizing internal SSD capacity.”
Apple Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max
The M5 Max listing describes a newer chip tier aimed at creative, graphics, and on-device AI work, with up to 128GB unified memory and bandwidth up to 614GB/s. It also specifies four Thunderbolt 5 ports, a broad selection of other connections, and support for as many as five external displays. Compared with the M4 Max listings, it may appeal to buyers who want the stated M5 Max platform and connectivity, but the available product details do not confirm that this particular listing includes 128GB.
That uncertainty matters for this roundup: the M4 Max options explicitly include 128GB, while this model states only a maximum. I would verify the exact memory and storage configuration before choosing it for a 128GB requirement. The M3 Ultra is a clearer fit for buyers who need a confirmed memory capacity above that threshold; the M4 Max 2TB remains the safer match for a confirmed 128GB configuration. This Mac Studio also weighs 5.94 pounds and requires a separate display, so its compact footprint does not make it a travel computer.
Pros:- M5 Max chip aimed at demanding creative and AI workflows
- Memory bandwidth listed up to 614GB/s
- Four Thunderbolt 5 ports plus USB-A, HDMI, and SDXC
- Supports up to five external displays
Cons:- The included memory configuration is unspecified
- Storage configuration is not stated
- A separate display is required
Best for: Buyers specifically interested in the M5 Max platform who can confirm the chosen unit has the memory and storage configuration they need.
Not ideal for: Anyone who needs an immediately clear, confirmed 128GB listing without checking configuration details.
- Processor:Apple M5 Max
- Maximum unified memory:Up to 128GB
- Memory bandwidth:Up to 614GB/s
- Ports:Four Thunderbolt 5, two USB-C, two USB-A, HDMI, SDXC card slot, headphone jack
- Wireless:Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6
- Maximum external displays:5
- Dimensions and weight:7.76 x 7.76 x 3.74 inches; 5.94 pounds
- Model number:MHL64LL/A
Our verdict“I would shortlist the M5 Max only after confirming the unit’s actual memory and SSD, since the listing’s maximum does not establish a 128GB configuration.”
Apple Mac Studio (2022) with M1 Ultra, 64GB RAM, 1TB SSD (Renewed)
This renewed 2022 Mac Studio is the lineup’s outlier: its M1 Ultra pairs a 20-core CPU and 48-core GPU with 64GB of unified memory and a 1TB SSD. It may suit a buyer who wants an Ultra-class chip in a compact desktop and whose applications fit within 64GB. The listing says it has been inspected, tested, and cleaned by qualified suppliers, with replacement or refund eligibility within 90 days of receipt.
For the search topic, though, the central drawback is decisive: 64GB does not meet a 128GB requirement. The M4 Max options provide the target memory and more storage, while the M3 Ultra doubles it. The renewed condition also differs from those configurations: accessories may be non-original and packaging generic, and the listing is not Apple certified. I would treat this as a distinct, lower-memory alternative rather than a substitute for a 128GB Mac Studio.
Pros:- M1 Ultra with 20-core CPU and 48-core GPU
- Inspected, tested, and cleaned by qualified suppliers
- No visible cosmetic imperfections at arm’s length, according to the listing
- Replacement or refund eligibility within 90 days of receipt
Cons:- 64GB unified memory falls short of the 128GB search requirement
- 1TB SSD is less internal storage than every other listed option
- Not Apple certified; accessories or packaging may be non-original
Best for: A buyer open to renewed hardware whose professional or personal workload fits within 64GB and 1TB of storage.
Not ideal for: Anyone requiring 128GB unified memory for large creative projects, computational workloads, or future capacity headroom.
- Model:Mac Studio (2022)
- Chip:Apple M1 Ultra
- CPU:20-core
- GPU:48-core
- Unified memory:64GB
- Storage:1TB SSD
- Condition:Renewed
Our verdict“I would consider this renewed M1 Ultra only if 64GB is enough, because it cannot satisfy a strict 128GB memory requirement.”

How We Picked
I ranked these five listings by how well they serve someone searching specifically for a Mac Studio with 128GB unified memory. Confirmed 128GB configurations come first, and I distinguish between them by processor tier, SSD capacity, and the likely scale of the work they can accommodate. That puts the M4 Max with 2TB ahead as a more restrained all-around fit, with the 8TB version close behind for buyers who need substantial local storage.
The M3 Ultra with 256GB ranks highly for users who need memory beyond the stated target, but its extra capacity makes it a specialized choice rather than the default. I place the M5 Max listing lower because “up to 128GB” does not confirm what memory configuration is included. The renewed M1 Ultra ranks last for this search because its 64GB falls short of the target, despite its capable chip and stated inspection process. I use the supplied product details only; I do not infer unlisted configurations or claim hands-on performance results.
| mac studio with 128gb unified memory | Chip | Connectivity |
|---|---|---|
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | Apple M4 Max | Thunderbolt 5 |
| Apple Mac Studio with M4 Max | Apple M4 Max | Thunderbolt 5 |
| Apple Mac Studio with M3 Ultra | Apple M3 Ultra | Thunderbolt 5, USB 3, HDMI 2.1, 10Gb Ethernet |
| Apple Mac Studio Desktop Compu | — | — |
| Apple Mac Studio | Apple M1 Ultra | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Mac Studio With 128gb Unified Memory
I would start by separating the memory requirement from the other workstation needs. A confirmed 128GB configuration answers the first question; SSD capacity, chip tier, display support, and the certainty of the listing determine which one fits your day-to-day work.Decide Whether 128GB Is a Target or a Minimum
If you know your work needs 128GB, the two M4 Max listings are the straightforward matches. Their stated memory is the same, so choose between them based mainly on local storage needs. If 128GB is a minimum and your working set may grow beyond it, the M3 Ultra’s 256GB offers more headroom. A larger memory figure only helps when software and active projects can make use of it, so I would base that step up on a real workload need.
Match SSD Capacity to Your File Workflow
The 2TB M4 Max is the balanced configuration for projects that do not all need to live on the internal drive. The 8TB version is better suited to large libraries and active files that benefit from staying local. The M3 Ultra also has a 2TB SSD, despite its larger memory capacity. Before choosing, account for existing external storage, shared project storage, and how much space applications and current work occupy.
Compare Chip Tier and Workload Fit
The supplied configurations name different chip families and core counts, but those figures alone do not establish how quickly a particular application will run. The M4 Max options give a clearly stated 128GB package for demanding creative and computational work. The M3 Ultra combines higher listed CPU and GPU core counts with 256GB, making it the more specialized pick for workflows that can use that capacity. The M5 Max listing describes up to 128GB, but does not confirm the included amount; verify the exact configuration before treating it as a match.
Check the Details That Shape a Studio Setup
All of these are desktop computers, so plan for a separate display and a permanent workspace. Connectivity and screen count can help narrow the decision: the M3 Ultra listing supports up to eight displays, while the M5 Max listing states up to five and lists Thunderbolt 5, USB-A, HDMI, and an SDXC slot. The renewed M1 Ultra is a different proposition again, with 64GB memory, 1TB storage, and non-original accessories possible. Those details matter if you need a specific port setup or want a confirmed 128GB configuration.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Mac Studio in this lineup has exactly 128GB of unified memory?
The two M4 Max listings explicitly state 128GB: one has a 2TB SSD and the other an 8TB SSD. The M5 Max listing says “up to 128GB” but does not identify the included configuration, so I would confirm the memory on the specific unit. The M3 Ultra has 256GB, and the renewed M1 Ultra has 64GB.
Should I choose the 2TB or 8TB M4 Max?
I would choose the 2TB configuration if most archived work lives on external or shared storage and you mainly need room for current projects and applications. The 8TB model fits better when large active files need to stay on the Mac Studio. Both listings specify the same M4 Max, CPU, GPU, and 128GB memory, so the stated distinction is internal SSD capacity.
When does the M3 Ultra make more sense than an M4 Max?
The M3 Ultra is the stronger fit when your workload can benefit from more than 128GB of unified memory or you need its stated support for up to eight displays. It has 256GB memory and a 2TB SSD. If 128GB is sufficient and internal storage is the bigger concern, the M4 Max with 8TB may be more aligned with your needs.
Does the M5 Max listing confirm a 128GB configuration?
No. It states that the Mac Studio offers up to 128GB of unified memory, which describes a maximum rather than the included configuration. The listing also does not specify storage capacity. I would check the exact unit details before buying if you need 128GB and a particular amount of SSD storage.
Is the renewed M1 Ultra a suitable alternative to a 128GB Mac Studio?
Not for a strict 128GB requirement: this renewed M1 Ultra listing has 64GB unified memory and a 1TB SSD. It may suit buyers whose workload fits that capacity and who are comfortable with renewed condition, possible non-original accessories, and generic packaging. For confirmed 128GB, the M4 Max options are the direct alternatives in this selection.
Conclusion
I would choose the M4 Max with 2TB SSD for a balanced 128GB workstation, or the 8TB M4 Max if large local projects drive the decision. For workloads that need more than 128GB or for a multi-display setup, the M3 Ultra with 256GB is the specialized option. I would verify the M5 Max listing’s included memory and storage before committing, and consider the renewed M1 Ultra only if 64GB is enough. That leaves the choice anchored to the amount of memory your work uses and where you need your files stored.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.







